Conversations with my son

“Hello, by product of my one night stand.”

Mike lets out a wicked chuckle.

He’s the 22 year old only child of two people with dysfunctional issues . There’s every reason to think that he had earned the right to become an emotionally crippled adult.
He easily could have become a drop out, an alcoholic, a drug addict, or a felon. The only constant in his life was intense parental love. And that seems to have carried the day.

Mike is the opposite of those things I listed above. He is very bright, insanely and wickedly funny, kind, thoughtful, and handsome. He has the unmatched ability to take a serious conversation, quickly zero in on the stupid stuff that others don’t see, and make hysterically funny rapid fire comments.

He just graduated from a very prestigious national university, and he starts a job on Wall Street this month.

He has been home for the last month, and we’ve had a lot of conversations, about everything. Candid discussions about his parents, his friends, the habits of the rich people he went to college with, women’s rights, racial issues, his aspirations, and much more. We wildly disagree about a lot of stuff. But that’s OK. It makes for some great exchanges.

He’s moving into a New York City apartment tomorrow, and I am paying the bills until he gets a paycheck. That wakes me up at 2 o’clock in the morning, can I do this? I’m afraid he’s going to have to live on yogurt and lettuce leaves for the first month.

You may have come to believe that I think he is totally wonderful. He’s not. On his drive home from school from North Carolina, he ran through two EZ Pass lanes , which is fine if you have EZpass. He doesn’t. I get two violation letters this week with 75 dollars in fines. In a whiny voice, he blames the problem on the g_p_s in his car.

This is not an isolated incident, he does quite a few things like this.

If this is as bad as it gets, I can deal with it.

A lot of dads are not close to their sons. I think we’re pretty close. For that, I’m incredibly grateful.

One thought on “Conversations with my son”

Leave a Reply

