Terrorism is inevitable

As I often do , I start talking to this friendly fellow at the YMCA.  Not knowing what he did for a living, I express my concern over the alleged NYC subway terrorist plot this week.  My son takes the subway every day.

And worse, he works on Wall Street, which every jihadist targets for obliteration.

The YMCA guy looks at me for ten seconds and chills me by saying “You are going to have to learn to deal with it.”

It is at this point that I find out that this fellow is a New York City investigator,  specializing in train activity, with heightened concern for train tunnels.

He goes on to tell me that the city is too big, and their are too many places of entry to prevent everything.

“It is inevitable that it will happen again. Odds are your son will be OK.”

I was visibly shaken, and silently moved on with my workout.

Like all of you, I experienced the horror of 9/11. To now have a loved one in the preferred target area of terrorists makes for some sleepless moments.

I know that there is nothing I can do about it.  But it still makes me very nervous.

2 thoughts on “Terrorism is inevitable”

  1. Lord grant me the serenity to accept the things I can not change,the courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference. Michael wlill be fine. I pray every day for protection for my kids. I will add Michael. What else can we do but send a big guardian angel to them. 😍

    Like

Leave a Reply

