Fifty shades of stupid

Have I read 50 Shades of Grey?

Nooo.

Have I seen the movie?

Nooo.

Read a lot about it, though. And I have spoken to several women about it.

Two big news stories involving sex this year.

The first story involved the vilification of college men who were FALSELY accused of gang raping a coed at the University of Virginia.  Even after it was shown that nothing happened, many women clung to the story to the bitter end. The men’s reputations were destroyed.

The second story involves the response to the movie 50 Shades of Grey, which was recently released.  From what I do know, the gentleman in the story commits some pretty brutal, nasty sexual acts upon the young woman.

So of course, women rightfully would be outraged.

Or would they?

Despite a few women who have spoken up, the movie is on pace to set box office records. So, this guy is a hero for hideous acts that he, a handsome billionaire, committed. And Virginia college men are hideous villains for sexual acts they didn’t commit.

(And this is not just a consent issue-at my son’s college, like many others, saying YES does not mean YES if a girl has been drinking heavily, whatever that means).

You need to help me understand this shit. I don’t have a fucking clue.

So here is what I am going to do.  I am going to be like the guy in the movie. 

And truckloads of women will beat a path to my door.

I shall name my story Fifty Shades of Flatulence.

Or Fifty Shades of Pot Roast.

I am waiting, women.

One thought on “Fifty shades of stupid”

  1. I tried to read the book because I was curious. It was so poorly written that I put it down after about the third attempt and took it to the used book store along with some other books. The male character is into bondage, yes, but it is not whip and chains. And the female character goes along with it, not forced. Bondage is a legitimate sexual practice that some people indulge in and it’s by mutual interest. I’m not sure exactly what’s involved because I’m not interested. I don’t know what all the buzz is about. I remember reading erotica when I was younger. Lady Chatterly’s Lover. Delta of Venus by Anais Nin was excellent. I guess ’50 Shades of Grey’ is this generation’s erotica, however poorly written it is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

