The mind reader

I really don’t know the difference between a psychic and a mind reader, I’ve been told there is a difference, I’ve never paid attention. But I’ve seen psychics on TV, and I think they are full of shit. They seem to prey on people who have lost loved ones, in some cases people that lost children, and that’s just awful. And it seems as though they have to ask a number of questions to get where they want to be.

I think mind readers are a completely different story.  I say that because I have had a personal experience with a mind reader, and it is a moment I will never forget.

Many years ago, in the 1980’s, I was working out at a health club. I was lifting weights and thinking about a hockey game I saw the previous night on TV. It was a very exciting game, & I was replaying it in my mind.

A gentleman was waiting to use the machine. And then he says, “Stop thinking about the hockey game and  lift your weights.”

At the same moment, both my jaw and the weights drop. I just cannot believe what I heard. I stare at the guy, and I am speechless.

He looks at me sheepishly and apologizes. He tells me that he rarely does that in public because it upsets the people he does it to.  I finally regained my sense of speech and ask him if he is married. After he tells me that he is, I tell him that I’m certain his wife is faithful to him, what choice does she have?

In my life, that was the only time my mind was read in public. In college, a performer who travelled the college circuit, Russ Burgess, also read my mind. But with him, we knew it was coming.  But he was equally as amazing.

So I am pretty sure that when we are thinking, something is traveling through the air. I have no way of pretending to even know how it works. But I instantly turned from a mind reader denier to a mind reader believer, in the space of about 2 seconds.

Amazing stuff.

One thought on “The mind reader”

  1. It’s like anything else, Greg, if you’ve never experienced a psychic reading you really have no basis to comment. You can make an observation. Indeed there are many out there who prey on the emotional states, and are not real. But there is life after death and we can be in touch and I am not on medication. It’s one of those things where personal experience is key. I’ve been in a room full of strangers at a group reading where extremely specific things have been to specific people that amazed everyone. It’s one of those things where you have to be there. I took an ex of mine to a reading once, total doubter, he almost fell off his chair when the psychic read him and gave him specifics . A psychic medium is in touch with people who have passed. A mind reader reads your mind[like when you are at the gym and think nasty thoughts about the young girls with much exposed].

    Like

Leave a Reply

